Today

My last post was five months ago, and almost five months ago I gave birth to a healthy baby boy. Of course he has been my life these past months, and therefore posting on a blog did not seem important, but today, as I was feeding my son and staring at his wiggling toes, I thought of the thousands of mothers and fathers who lost their children ten years ago on this day.

I have always known that losing a child must be an unimaginable and horrible experience for any parent, but now….

As I sit and watch my son roll on the blanket in front of me, giving me high-pitched screams and huge smiles, I think of the strength of those parents who lost a child or children on that day, of the children who lost a parent, and of the lives that the world lost.

I will not think of how or why. Only of courage, of love, and of remembrance. I choose to spend this day in peace, and to give my son as many smiles as he has given me.

Leave a Reply

