I wish I could be like Anne Frank, but alas…

I have never been able to keep a diary. Or a journal. Or anything close to a blank book in which you need to write in daily. Those blank pages always glared back at me, as if to say, “so what ya got to say that is so interesting? You can only place your pen on me if it is profound, ingenious, or juicy.” Well, you can now imagine why I stopped after that kind of pressure.

Then, one day, I came across the five-year diary. A diary with one day per page, and five 5-line spaces to represent 5 different years. I hope the number 5 is a lucky number.

I haven’t missed a single day since December 2010, and in case the first paragraph wasn’t clear enough, this is AMAZING for me. I suggest this to anyone who has always wanted to keep a diary but cannot seem to stick with it. I also love the fact that each year you can look back and see what you were doing on that exact day the year before. I keep my diary next to my bed, and have made it a nightly ritual before I turn off the light.

There is no pressure to be brilliant, or to prove that every day was an amazing, life-changing day. I love it!

2 responses to “I wish I could be like Anne Frank, but alas…

Leave a Reply

